Home > Articles > Eligibility for Civil Services – Civil Service India

Eligibility for Civil Services – Civil Service India

March 24th, 2013 Leave a comment Go to comments

Civil Services Eligibility

Thousands of students sit for the most important exam in India every year. This is the exam meant for setting one’s foot onto the ladder of Indian Administrative Services of India. After clearing the exam one becomes eligible for a post with top most positions in the job sector of Union Government, Public Sector Undertakings and State Governments. The administrative officers get the posts after clearing the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) exam which is conducted at all India level. The government of a State cannot remove an IAS officer from his post without permission from UPSC or Union Government.

Read: Civil Service Exam 2013 Notification

Eligibility Standard for IAS candidate

First and foremost requirement for an IAS candidate is that he should be an Indian from every angle. The candidate should hold a graduate degree from a recognized university or government institution. Student can also be from a deemed university. Preliminary Examination can be given by candidates who are awaiting their University results. Students can also sit for the preliminary exam if they are deemed fit by the government of India.

Students with technical or any kind of professional degree can also sit for this exam. Students who have cleared their MBBS degree or any other kind of Medical Exam can also sit for the preliminary examination but a proof towards the same is required to be submitted to do so.

Age & other eligibility criteria

Candidates not less than twenty one year of age can sit for the exam. One cannot sit for the exam after attaining the age of 30. Upper age limit is however subject to relaxation. Five years relaxation is there for those belonging to SC/ST. Three years relaxation is there for OBC and other categories. Candidates who have lived in Jammu & Kashmir from the month of January 1980 to December 1989 can sit for the exam. Candidates who have been in Defence Services for at least three years can appear for this exam. Five year relaxation is there for ex-servicemen, commissioned officers and people who have served military for at least five years. Ten years relaxation is there for candidates who are either deaf or blind. Orthopaedic handicaps are also included under this category.

Selection Procedure for IAS candidates

A candidate appearing for Civil Services has to give preliminary exam followed by a main exam and then an interview. The pattern of examination has changed from the one that was prescribed earlier. Today the candidates don’t have any optional subject for the 2nd paper. The 2nd paper is also meant for all the students. One optional subject is there for the main exam.

Number of attempts

Normal candidates can sit for the exam for at least four times. OBC candidates can sit for the same for seven times. SC and ST candidates can sit for the exam for any number of times.

Total number of candidates who clear the exam every year is around 850. More than often a person who clears the exam is posted in an area which is not his hometown area.

Categories: Articles Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.
You must be logged in to post a comment.